So what does work with Vista?

General question for Sail Simulator (raising sails, pulling sheets, etc.)

So what does work with Vista?

Postby Barry » Mon 24 Sep 2007 - 16:27

So far the Object Editor same as before and unable to use arrow keys to place the spheres for collision detection.

Apparently the Scenery Designer no longer loads..
Date: 24/09/2007 15:04:47
Exception EPictureError in C:\progra~1\stentec\scener~1\SCENER~1\Scenery.exe (Scenery Builder 1.1.2.0)

"StAddAlphaToSurface: Surface not capable of handling alpha channel"

Stack trace (raw):
Physical Logical Unit (######) Routine
00099F3F 00088F3F StRTLI.PhysicalToLogical
000B44CD 000A34CD StPictures.StAddAlphaToSurface
000B465C 000A365C StPictures.StAddAlphaToSurface
000B58F0 000A48F0 StD3DTextures.TD3DTexture.Initialize
000B57B0 000A47B0 StD3DTextures.TD3DTexture.AddAlpha
000B5983 000A4983 StD3DTextures.TD3DTexture.Initialize
000B627B 000A527B StD3DTextures.TD3DTextureManager.Initialize
000B62D2 000A52D2 StD3DTextures.TD3DTextureManager.Initialize
000F21E9 000E11E9 StDirect3D.TDirect3D7.Initialize
00164651 00153651 FrmMain.TFormMain.WMStartApplication
00045610 00034610 Controls.TControl.WndProc
00047E1B 00036E1B Controls.TWinControl.WndProc
00045610 00034610 Controls.TControl.WndProc
00047E1B 00036E1B Controls.TWinControl.WndProc
0004988D 0003888D Controls.TWinControl.CMTimeChange
00045610 00034610 Controls.TControl.WndProc
00047E1B 00036E1B Controls.TWinControl.WndProc
0005B1F4 0004A1F4 Forms.TCustomForm.WndProc
00105330 000F4330 StSimLoops.TSimViewer.FormWndProc
00021419 00010419 Classes.TThreadList.UnlockList
00030E9D 0001FE9D Graphics.FreeMemoryContexts
00047ACF 00036ACF Controls.TWinControl.MainWndProc
00047AE7 00036AE7 Controls.TWinControl.MainWndProc
0005861A 0004761A Forms.StdWndProc
00060BEC 0004FBEC Forms.TApplication.ProcessMessage
00060C23 0004FC23 Forms.TApplication.HandleMessage
00060E2E 0004FE2E Forms.TApplication.Run
00060E52 0004FE52 Forms.TApplication.Run
0016652F 0015552F scenery.scenery
00166545 00155545 scenery.scenery

Unable to run sail simulator satisfactorily as runs at about third of the frame rates of same scenery in motorboat simulator plus locks to white screen when changing settings.

Regarding Blender and vrml2 managed to load version 2.42a which will export the textures , but the later versions 2.43, 2.44. and the 2.45 do not. This refers to the script file for vrml97(vrml2) but not Stentec related and not Vista related

Could Stentec please advise the current position with Vista and especially SS5 and peripherals such as Object Editor (is it still being used for SS5). Scenery Designer as mentioned above doesn't load and I made compatible to windows 95.

Also what is the position with the obj. files which is mentioned for SS5 as current Blender versions for the last year or so, don't appear to carry textures in the script file when exporting to vrml97 (vrml2) which is required for the simulator.


This new computer, dual core and nvidia 8600 GTS and 2G of ram. Standard components and about middle range.

Barry
.
Barry
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Fri 10 Oct 2003 - 22:07

Postby Barry » Mon 24 Sep 2007 - 19:28

Just like to add it could be something comparitively simple to get the scenery designer to load and work satisfactorily.

However it does need some feedback from Stentec.

My main interests seem to be creating sceneries and content to portray times past with realistic boats etc. So without a functioning scenery designer my interest in this simulator would end.

Perhaps we have a new Scenery Designer for SS5, but with little feedback from Stentec over the months on the forum it's anyone's guess?


Barry
Barry
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Fri 10 Oct 2003 - 22:07

Postby Stefan » Tue 25 Sep 2007 - 08:12

Hi Barry,

There will definitely be a new Scenery Designer with SS5, which will run under Vista.
Stefan
Stentec Software Developer
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Thu 09 Oct 2003 - 20:07
Location: Heeg

Postby Barry » Tue 25 Sep 2007 - 11:33

Stefan wrote:Hi Barry,

There will definitely be a new Scenery Designer with SS5, which will run under Vista.


Thanks Stefan.
I will add a note to my satellite data scenery tutorial on my site listing the error notice and mention that a new scenery designer is forecast for SS5 which is due out "shortly". (5 years since the last one).

Still many unknowns though.
As there is a difficulty downloading 3DEM easily which is required, and also Virtual Terrain is required to change the file type, the Scenery Designer would need the bits and pieces integrated within the program if satellite data files are to be used such as srtm2 data from the Nasa site to make any realistic scenery.

But thanks nevertheless.

Barry

:)
Barry
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Fri 10 Oct 2003 - 22:07

Postby Barry » Fri 26 Oct 2007 - 12:28

Having problems with Vista with Windows Explorer is closing/Windows Explorer is starting error loop.

This is Windows not Internet Explorer. Sometimes occasionally but sometimes on a regular basis. Quite a few seem to have this problem on looking at Internet with no real solution?

Various recommendations from a trojan virus to non compatible Vista programs.

Been uninstalling programs gradually, trying to find cause, but yesterday just clicking on program from desktop caused the loop to start up.

So uninstalled a free zip program and so far seems to be OK (so far at least).

Thought it worth mentioning and maybe only try use Vista compatible programs whenever possible?

Barry
Barry
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Fri 10 Oct 2003 - 22:07


Return to Sail Simulator - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron