...anybody seen "popup window "Error" -- No compatible grap

General question for Sail Simulator (raising sails, pulling sheets, etc.)

...anybody seen "popup window "Error" -- No compatible grap

Postby LaoziSailor » Mon 29 Dec 2008 - 02:27

When I start SS5, I get a small popup window "Error" -- No compatible
graphics adapter found, followed by an "OK" button.
When this is hit, an attempt to show the SS5 screen appears?

I have sent helpdesk@stentec.com the details [just remembered I didn't send them my sysconfig] and was hoping somebody had encountered this situation.
BTW, besides Motorboat Simulator, I also have (both working well) Sail Simulator 4.2.2.5i
LaoziSailor
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 27 Dec 2008 - 18:07
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: ...anybody seen "popup window "Error" -- No compatible grap

Postby Rosita » Mon 29 Dec 2008 - 13:10

Hi !

I had the same problem. My Matrox graphics card wasn't compatible with SS5 so I have now switch to an ASUS NE8600GT nVidia card and it works super now.

The Matrox card didn't support Shader 3 functionality and I think that this was the real problem in my case.

Best regards,
Lars
Rosita
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue 09 Nov 2004 - 12:23

Re: ...anybody seen "popup window "Error" -- No compatible grap

Postby Jeroen Schlaman » Thu 01 Jan 2009 - 23:13

Hello,

I presume it is indeed a problem the Matrox doesn't support Shader Model 3. This is required for SS5. All Nvidia Geforce 6200 and higher and ATI 9800 or higher do support SM 3.0.

Can you send us your graphics card type and specifications (memory, etc.)?
Greets,
Jeroen Schlaman
Stentec Developer
Jeroen Schlaman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu 18 Oct 2007 - 14:34
Location: Heeg

Re: ...anybody seen "popup window "Error" -- No compatible grap

Postby Nicopil@mi » Sat 03 Jan 2009 - 21:24

i got the same error on my laptop; i didn't find any workaround, even with Windows 98 compatibility, reinstalling DirectX... but it works great my a desktop computer.

good luck

Bye
Nico
Nicopil@mi
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue 30 Dec 2008 - 18:54

Re: ...anybody seen "popup window "Error" -- No compatible grap

Postby Jeroen Schlaman » Mon 05 Jan 2009 - 09:44

Hello Nico,

Most of the laptop models with a simple onboard graphics card (not a separate one from ATI or NVidia or whatever) do not support Shader Model 3. I think your desktop computer does have a graphics card which supports SM3, so SS5 works there indeed.
Greets,
Jeroen Schlaman
Stentec Developer
Jeroen Schlaman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu 18 Oct 2007 - 14:34
Location: Heeg


Return to Sail Simulator - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests