SS5 on Apple MacBook Pro

SS5 on Apple MacBook Pro

Postby Kaffeesegler » Sat 28 Nov 2009 - 23:54

Somebody successful in running SS5 on a new MacBook Pro?

Regards,
Detlef
Kaffeesegler
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 07 Oct 2009 - 11:49

Re: SS5 on Apple MacBook Pro

Postby Admiral » Mon 30 Nov 2009 - 16:20

Bootcamp should work...
"As far as I can remember, there aren't a lot of points of land or holidays named after people who sat at home and criticized Christopher Columbus."
(Paul Cayard, from the Pirates base, in an e-mail to race HQ. 25 Jan 2006 volvooceanrace.org)
Admiral
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri 17 Apr 2009 - 12:49

Re: SS5 on Apple MacBook Pro

Postby Kaffeesegler » Wed 13 Oct 2010 - 09:44

Now that I own a second copy of SS5 I try to start it under the latest version of parallels desktop on a new MacBook Pro / 17" - but only get a bluescreen after SS5 trys to load the "environment", the error has to do with prl_vadd.dll - any suggestion?
Kaffeesegler
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 07 Oct 2009 - 11:49

Re: SS5 on Apple MacBook Pro

Postby TiGER » Wed 13 Oct 2010 - 10:03

_
Last edited by TiGER on Fri 15 Apr 2011 - 13:38, edited 1 time in total.
TiGER
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon 31 May 2010 - 20:16

Re: SS5 on Apple MacBook Pro

Postby Kaffeesegler » Fri 22 Oct 2010 - 08:59

I really try to avoid using Bootcamp - running my PC software inside a virtual machine I'm able to include everything in a very streamlined workflow including Timemachine backups. Basically a few day after I bought my MBP the brand new HD crashed - due to TimeMachine it was a matter of minutes to copy back my whole complete installation of everything including my old Windows XP (running in a window of Parallels Desktop) onto the new harddisk. I am afraid that installing a second partition just for another Windows installation just to run SS5 I'm back in the old world of PC troubles ...

Anybody successful in running SS5 in a virtual machine?

Regards, Detlef
Kaffeesegler
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 07 Oct 2009 - 11:49

Re: SS5 on Apple MacBook Pro

Postby Hole » Fri 22 Oct 2010 - 18:18

It works on my MacBook Pro mid 2010 17" 2.66 GHz Intel Core i7 under Parallels 6.

Rolf
Hole
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri 22 Oct 2010 - 18:08

Re: SS5 on Apple MacBook Pro

Postby Kaffeesegler » Sat 23 Oct 2010 - 09:55

That's exactly my configuration (I use Win XP inside PD6)! Any hints on special settings inside PD or SS5? I can start SS5, change several game parameters - but when the simulation itself start I get a Windows blue screen.

Regards, Detlef
Kaffeesegler
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 07 Oct 2009 - 11:49

Re: SS5 on Apple MacBook Pro

Postby Hole » Sat 23 Oct 2010 - 13:38

I use windows 7 Prof 64bit in my VM.

Rolf
Hole
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri 22 Oct 2010 - 18:08

Re: SS5 on Apple MacBook Pro

Postby ontheplain » Sun 21 Nov 2010 - 12:31

I use SS5 and VSK5 on my Mac Pro using Bootcamp, works well and fast.
ontheplain
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 18 Nov 2010 - 16:15

Re: SS5 on Apple MacBook Pro

Postby Kaffeesegler » Sun 27 Feb 2011 - 15:52

First it's interesting to see, that this post is one of those with the most views (@ Stentec: hint, hint ...)

Second I was able to install and get running SS5 under Parallels 6 and Windows 7 (had problems with XP before, but that may have been related to the fact, that my complete, old XP installation was transferred from my old PC to the new VM on my MacBook), I even use all the realistic visuals - wonderful! so in my eyes the perfect machine for running SS5 is a MacBook pro :)

The only disadvantage so far: Using the RIB (training for some kids before we go onto the water this year) I can't use arrow l/r for steering, because doing so increases/lowers the motors speed two. And we don't just want to travel backwards right or forward/left :lol:

Another wish: the motors sound is terrible! Guys @ Stentec: have you ever had the "fun" of sitting close to an outboard engine? :wink:

Best wishes, Detlef

screen-capture_klein.jpg
SS5 on a 17" MacBook Pro (reduced resolution/ file size)
screen-capture_klein.jpg (255.1 KiB) Viewed 1802 times
Kaffeesegler
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 07 Oct 2009 - 11:49

Re: SS5 on Apple MacBook Pro

Postby ikey » Tue 07 Feb 2012 - 09:30

Excuse my ignorance, I have a Macbook Pro but no windows software; I have no need for Windows. Am I able to run SS5 on my mac and its it only Bootcamp I have to download or Windows 7 as well.
ikey
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue 07 Feb 2012 - 09:22


Return to Sail Simulator 5 - General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron